Author Dream Series: Lindsay Marie Miller

Author Dream Series Banner

I’m pleased to offer the Author Dream Series where guest authors talk about their writing dreams. Please welcome author Lindsay Marie Miller!

Happily Ever After

Writing was never a choice for me. It was just something that sort of happened. I was sixteen and felt out of step, living vicariously through Edward and Bella in the saga of vampire romances that Stephenie Meyer had penned for girls like me. I was a bookworm by nature, solely focused on academics and doomed to study every night and weekend.

But Twilight sparked something inside of me that hadn’t been there before. A flip had been switched, and I knew that I didn’t want to turn it off. So I chose to write my own YA Romantic Thriller in the vein of Stephenie Meyer, without the vampires and werewolves of course. In the end, I enjoyed getting lost in my own world more than any other fictional realm my beloved authors had created.

The same is true today. I spend most of my waking hours typing away on a laptop, conjuring up dream boys and honorable gentlemen who don’t exist. It’s been 18 months since I published my first novel, Emerald Green—my debut writing experiment when I was sixteen, although it has altered due to heavy rewriting that was highly necessary. I’ve written and published 9 books now, the last of which is my first ever novella, M.A.R.R.I.E.D. My goal for 2017 is to double it. That’s right, I want to publish 9 new novels this year.

It’s all part of my 25 by 25 plan. The night before my twenty-sixth birthday (for me, the last day of being twenty-five), I want to have 25 high quality, heart-pounding romance novels that will make readers swoon available for purchase. Seeing as I’m 24 now, it looks like I have my work cut out for me. It also wouldn’t hurt to pick up the pace.

But the way I see it, even if I don’t reach my goal, I will still publish more books than I would have otherwise. Setting the bar high gives me something to be working towards. It’s an incentive, a roadmap, a plan. And a planner I am. Right down to my vacation days.

So far, the Indie Author journey has been a challenging one for me. I never imagined how much work a job like this would be or how many hours a day I would actually have to spend writing, not to mention all that other stuff—marketing, promotion, advertising. It’s a business, but I have to be appreciative of that. I can remember when I had to study Calculus and Chemistry in high school and college. And they don’t even pay you for that.

But now I get to write stories every day for a living. I get to do what I love. And don’t get me wrong, it’s work. A lot of work. When I wrote as a hobby during my days as a student, stories were a way to escape and relax, a break from campus life and approaching tests. But writing isn’t just for fun anymore. In fact, I do it all the time. More than I do anything else.

I guess that’s what makes the difference though. You kind of have to be obsessed with it. I would be writing on my own anyway, even if I wasn’t pursuing it as a career. I never chose to be a writer. I am one. I can’t help it.

As far as long-term goals, sure we all want the blockbuster film franchise, the bestseller lists, the notoriety, the awards, the honors, the top of the heap social standing. But I’ve learned a lot about myself in the past near-quarter of a century, and I don’t have to win a Pulitzer to be happy. The adapted screenplay for my novel doesn’t have to be nominated for an Oscar either, for me to feel like I have achieved success.

Honestly, I just want to continue getting to know my awesome family of loving readers and fans who cannot wait to read the next book. I want them to experience the thrill and anticipation I felt every time a new release was hitting bookstores that I just could not wait to get my hands on. It’s a way of paying it forward to future readers, in appreciation for what my favorite writers did for me.

I want to write more books. I want to grow my audience and make them feel delighted, the most delighted readers you’ve ever met. Because they’re worth it. Everyone deserves the opportunity to lose themselves in another world, even if it’s only for a little while. And that’s what I want to give them.

Sure, I have dreams that stretch beyond the realm of fiction. While traveling over the Christmas holidays, I saw more than one married couple with three children, the wife already pregnant with the fourth. I thought about how much I would like to have that. It’s nothing new—I always have. But the love of a good man—the husband and partner to have and raise these children with—I’d be a hypocrite if I said I didn’t want that. I mean, I write stories about people falling in love for a living. If I said I had no desire to fall in love and meet my soulmate/future husband/knight in shining armor/whatever you want to call him, I’d be lying.

The truth is, I’ve worked harder at being an author than I have at anything else in my life. It’s the most difficult thing I’ve ever done, but it also gives me a sense of fulfillment, meaning, and purpose. And one day that part of my life will expand to allow room for more. A husband. Children. A warm place to raise them.

But until that day comes, I’m content to share stories with you about the young women who are already living their happily ever after. Like Addie Smith, Finley O’Connell, Elaine Carmichael, Jessica Jacobs, and Claire Andrews.

I’ll find mine too one day. Even if it takes a million more words to get there.

About the Author

author-photo

LINDSAY MARIE MILLER graduated from Florida State University Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Arts in English Literature. An incurable romantic at heart, she enjoys writing about strong heroines and the honorable gentlemen who claim their hearts. The author resides in her hometown of Tallahassee, FL, where she is currently working on her next novel.

married-promo-banner

Title: M.A.R.R.I.E.D.

(A S.I.N.G.L.E. Novella)

Series: Jessie & Graham

Author: Lindsay Marie Miller

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Release Date: December 20, 2016

Add to Goodreads

Synopsis

In rainy Seattle, Washington, Graham Kelly has won the heart of independent minded Jessica Jacobs. Wedding bells are near, yet nothing will stop Jessie’s overbearing mother from throwing a wrench into the plans.

When an unexpected situation expands the swelling tension between the two, matters arise uncertain. Graham loves Jessie. But will his endless affection and warm heart be enough to keep her? This trip down the aisle is going to be a bumpy one.

ebook-cover-for-married

.99cents for a Limited Time!

AMAZON

***

Also Available:

ebook-cover-for-single

S.I.N.G.L.E.

(Still In Need of a Good Loving Equivalent)

Amazon Exclusive

***

Connect with Lindsay Marie Miller

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Want to be the first to know about important news and updates?

Join the Mailing List

**Subscribers receive special offers, exclusive discounts, advanced book chapters, new release announcements and more!**

Want to receive free eBooks and Advanced Reader Copies (ARCs) of upcoming releases by Lindsay Marie Miller?

Join the Review Team 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “Author Dream Series: Lindsay Marie Miller

  1. Love the interview. You got me in thinking of reaching realistic goals instead of something never impossible.

    Thanks and Happy New Year!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

